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Special Conservator of the Peace — REGISTRATION APPLICATION CHECKLIST

Please use this checklist to ensure you include the appropriate documentation with your application.

[ ] Special Conservator of the Peace Registration Application and Fee ($60.00)

NOTE: If your current registration is expired, you may reinstate your registration providing all renewal
requirements are met; and an additional, non-refundable reinstatement fee of $30.00 is submitted to
the department within 60 days following the expiration date of your registration. After 60 days, you
will no longer be eligible for renewal and all initial registration requirements will need to be met.

[ ] Fingerprint Processing Form and Fee ($50.00)
[] Fingerprint Card (FD-258)
|:| Legal Presence Documentation

|:| Proof of Professional Law Enforcement Liability Insurance, which lists DCJS as the Certificate Holder in the minimum
amount of $500,000.00. The insurance certificate should include in the Description of Operations that it provides
coverage for duties performed under the Special Conservator of the Peace Program.

[] Drugand Alcohol Test Completed (FOR INITIAL APPLICANTS ONLY)

e  Contact Nancy Brun at 1-800-732-3784 or by email at nbrun@firstlab.com . When contacting Nancy Brun,
notify the receptionist that you are with the Special Conservator of the Peace program.

= To locate the Labcorp site nearest you, please visit www.labcorp.com and go to the Patient Service Center
locations. The cost for testing is $41.50. Payment methods are in the form of a money order, certified check or
credit card.

|:| Background investigation completed by a police department, sheriff's office or the Virginia State Police.
(FOR THOSE SEEKING A NEW APPOINTMENT OR A RE-APPOINTMENT)

[ ] Completion of Training: Entry Level (Initial Applicants) or In-Service Training (Renewal Applicants)

A temporary registration will be issued following completion of all registration requirements. This letter

should be taken to the circuit court to petition for a SCOP appointment by the employing agency. PLEASE
NOTE: registration does not guarantee appointment and does NOT authorize you to engage in providing

SCOP services without a court appointment order.

[ ] APPLICATION TO COURTS (to be completed after all of the above eligibility criteria have been met):
All applications and orders for appointment are required to be submitted on forms developed by the Office of

the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia.

=  The application for appointment can be accessed at the Virginia’s Judicial System website:
www.courts.state.va.us/forms/circuit/civil.html

= Once the circuit court signs the order, you must return copies of both the (#1) Application and
(#2) Appointment Order to DCIS in order to receive your registration document.

10/2016 Page1of1


https://www.dcjs.virginia.gov/
mailto:nbrun@firstlab.com
http://www.labcorp.com/
http://www.courts.state.va.us/forms/circuit/civil.html

	COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

	Special Conservator of the Peace Registration Application and Fee 6000: Off
	Fingerprint Processing Form and Fee 5000: Off
	Fingerprint Card FD258: Off
	Legal Presence Documentation: Off
	Proof of Professional Law Enforcement Liability Insurance which lists DCJS as the Certificate Holder in the minimum: Off
	Drug and Alcohol Test Completed FOR INITIAL APPLICANTS ONLY: Off
	Background investigation completed by a police department sheriffs office or the Virginia State Police: Off
	Completion of Training Entry Level Initial Applicants or InService Training Renewal Applicants: Off
	APPLICATION TO COURTS to be completed after all of the above eligibility criteria have been met: Off


